Feed your soul, let your creativity shine, fulfill your dreams

The power of colors in clothing and the relationship to your chakras


We all have our favorite colors and it's usually a color or a couple of colors we can  vividly see in our closet + outfits. Those colors change based on our mood, our feelings, season and of course where we live geographically.

My favorite color is light pink, kind of peachy which is the color of my logo. But, in terms of clothing, I've been obsessed with red + navy blue or shinny blue like the picture on the right hand side. I love my jeans and anything with a denim fabric.

You might be familiar with balancing chakras + chakra colors and the fact that you can actually bring some balance back to inharmonious areas of your life by choosing clothes that match imbalanced chakra areas. The color in the form of clothes is easily absorbed and gets balanced because of direct contact with the skin and its more effective than the visual method.

Clothing can be a sign of good ethics and behavior. The fact that we get to express ourselves creatively through fashion is truly a gift. The wrong choice of clothing can also lead people to mental and physical degradation and destruction, therefore when you walk in a room you spread your energy with the color you are wearing and the energy you bring to the room. 

Chakras, the seven energy centers of the body, each with frequency are certain colors. The basis of moral and behavioral characteristics makes the person. 

What are the 7 Chakras?

The Sanskrit word Chakra literally translates to wheel or disk. In yoga, meditation, and Ayurveda, this term refers to wheels of energy throughout the body. There are seven main chakras, which align the spine, starting from the base of the spine through to the crown of the head. To visualize a chakra in the body, imagine a swirling wheel of energy where matter and consciousness meet. This invisible energy, called Prana, is vital life force, which keeps us vibrant, healthy, and alive. The connection of the chakras to those specific colors are in their colors, so each chakra has a color that represents them. Here is a breakdown of the chakras and their colors + emotions.



Starting from top:

Crown Chakra (Spirituality Chakra)

The crown chakra can be found at the very top of your head. This chakra is concerned with staying connected to the spirit and soul. It is the very basis of our spirituality, and when it is balanced it will enable us to live lives full of clarity. If you feel like this is an area of your life that isn’t balanced, then wearing violet or white colored clothing can help you to enhance this connection with yourself.

Third Eye Chakra (6th sense Chakra)

When energy is flowing through the third eye chakra in a desirable way, your ability to see the bigger picture will be more prevalent, and you will make wise decisions. Wearing clothes that are dark blue in color can help to balance this chakra. In doing so you will improve your understanding of your environment and your understanding of your own actions.

The Throat Chakra (Communication Chakra)

The throat chakra, as the name suggests, is in the throat. This chakra is representative of how we are able to communicate and express ourselves in an authentic and genuine way. It is not only connected to how confidently we express ourselves, but also to how truthfully we do so. Light blue is the color to choose when you are trying to improve the way in which you communicate and express yourself. Doing so can also influence how well you listen to those around you.

The Heart Chakra (Touch Chakra)

The heart chakra is where your compassion, empathy and forgiveness stems from, and can be found just above the heart. It is the essence of how you love yourself and how you love those around you.The heart chakra is also linked to how you love the things you enjoy, and how much you enjoy the things that you love. The color green feeds that heart chakra and helps you to open yourself up to those around you. It can also help to soothe your own heart if you are experiencing heartache or sadness.

The Solar Plexus Chakra (Action Chakra)

This chakra is in the upper abdomen. It better enables you to maintain your inner strength and to protect your emotional energy. The solar plexus chakra is a source of personal power, and can also be thought of as your inner fire, fueling your confidence and motivating you to stay strong and resilient. Yellow is the color that supports this chakra, and choosing yellow clothing will spark the solar plexus chakra into action! When this happens, you can notice your self-esteem and self-worth thrive.

The Sacral Chakra (Emotional Chakra)

Your sexuality, sensuality and creativity are all represented by the sacral chakra. It is located just below the navel. When your sacral chakra is in balance, you will find it much easier to accept change in your life and in your relationships. 
Wearing orange will influence the power of this chakra, and can inspire you to express and enjoy yourself in previously undiscovered ways.

The Root Chakra (Physical Chakra)

The root chakra is found at the base of the spine and guides you to maintaining a sense of calm and stability. This chakra also encourages a connection between the mind, body and Mother Earth. Additionally, the root chakra is concerned with honoring your relationship with your family and appreciating your roots.The root chakra is enhanced by wearing the color red. When you do so you will feel a greater sense of control over the things that you consider to be pivotal to your existence and survival, such as your finances, your security and your independence.

Having now read this blog post you may have become aware of which of your chakras may be blocked! If you want to find out more about the chakras, then you can check out the following page. What color are you wearing now, what are the colors you are more attracted to? I believe that dressing up in certain colors is usually a natural and quite organic process, but how about tuning in and making better choices based on the imbalances in our chakras.